Steering Committee

Statewide Steering Committee:


Billy Clayton, Military Advocate, Western Michigan University


Chris Engle, Dean, Enrollment, Retention, and Registrar, Mott Community College

Vice Chair

Kara Fields, Director of Veteran and Military Services, Macomb Community College

Technology Chair

Robert (Bob) James, Associate Dean School of Business, Entrepreneurship and Professional Development, CIS Instructor, Henry Ford College


Phil Larson, Program Director Veteran and Military Services, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor

Knowledge Community Chairs:

Academic Credit

Julie Lavender, Vice President of Instructional Services, Kirtland Community College

Post-Military Career Success

Steven Lipnicki, Assistant Dean of Students, Grand Valley State University

Outreach & Strategic Partnerships

Sarah Mellon, Veterans Services Coordinator, Michigan State University

SCO/School Certifying Official Support

Gail Bock, School Certifying Official, Henry Ford College

SVA/Student Veteran Organization Support

Eric Wuestenberg, Coordinator of Veterans Support Services, Oakland University.

Ex-Officio Members:


Sarah Anthony, Deputy Director of Partnerships and Advocacy, Michigan College Access Network


Katie Giardello, Director of Veteran and Transfer Initiatives, Michigan Center for Student Success, Michigan Community College Association


Jeff Schuett, Education Analyst, Michigan Veterans Affairs Agency


Will Emerson, Director of Student Success Initiatives, Michigan Association of State Universities